Interim steering committee

Dr Kerry Breen AM (convenor)

Kerry Breen is a specialist physician who has been a member of the AMA for fifty years and a regular contributor to and reviewer for the MJA. He currently holds a post of Adjunct Professor in the Department of Forensic Medicine at Monash University. He is a past President of the Medical Council of Australia, a past President of the Medical Practitioners Board of Victoria and a past Chair of the Australian Health Ethics Committee of the NHMRC.


Dr Peter Arnold

Peter Arnold, Fellow of the AMA, is a past Chairman of the AMA Federal Council, President of AMA(NSW) and Deputy President of the NSW Medical Board. He was previously a member of the AMPCo Board, edited The Australian GP and was Vice-President of the Society of Editors (NSW). He has contributed more than 50 pieces to the MJA over the past 50 years and been published in the BMJ, JAMA and the Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine.


Professor Stephen Cordner AM

Stephen Cordner is Professor of Forensic Pathology (International) at Monash University and was the foundation Director of the Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine (VIFM) from 1987 to 2014. He has a particular interest in the interface of forensic pathology and human rights issues internationally. He is a regular contributor and reviewer for the MJA and a reviewer for the Lancet. He is on the Editorial Board of five medical journals. He is a co-author of four text books including Good Medical Practice: Professionalism, Ethics and Law published by Cambridge University Press in 2010.


Professor Kerry Goulston AO

Kerry Gouston has had a long career as a specialist physician in gastroenterology in teaching hospitals in Canberra and Sydney. He is especially interested in medical education and served as Associate Dean and Head of Sydney Medical School-Northern at Royal North Shore Hospital. He has been a regular contributor to the MJA. In 1999 he was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for service to medicine in the field of gastroenterology, particularly the early detection of colo-rectal cancer, the teaching of clinical medicine and to veterans.


Professor Adele Green AC

Professor Adèle Green is Head of the Queensland Institute of Medical Research’s Cancer and Population Studies Group. She was made a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) in 2004 for service to medical research to public health including improved Indigenous health, and for leadership in the wider scientific community. She was the Queensland National Finalist Australian of the Year in 2013. As a medical practitioner and researcher she has made major contributions to cancer research (especially melanoma research), public health and Indigenous health. She served as Chair of the Health Advisory Committee of the NHMRC from 2000 -2006.


Professor John McNeil AM

John McNeil is Head of the Department of Epidemiology & Preventive Medicine at Monash University based at The Alfred Hospital. John has been involved in a variety of leadership roles including directorships of Austin Health, the Colonial Foundation, Orygen Youth Mental Health Research Institute, Alfred Health, the Australian Institute of Health & Welfare, the Metropolitan Ambulance Service, the Dunlop Medical Research Foundation, Water Quality Research Australia. As Chair of the Alfred Hospital Ethics Committee, John has developed a leadership role in research governance.   He was awarded an AM in in 2009 in recognition of services to Public Health. His research activities have involved the application of epidemiological methods to problems in clinical medicine and public health.


Professor Richard Smallwood AO

Richard Smallwood is a former Head of the Department of Medicine and Chairman of the Division of Medicine at the Austin and Repatriation Medical Centre, President of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians, Chairman of National Health and Medical Research Council and President of the Australian Medical Council. He served as Australia’s Chief Medical Officer from 1999-2003. He was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in 1997 for services to medicine. He has published over 250 scientific and clinical papers, focused chiefly in his specialty area of the liver and its diseases.


Dr Katrina Watson

Katrina Watson is a gastroenterologist, previously Deputy Director of Gastroenterology at St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne. Her clinical and public health contributions have included hepatitis C, rural health, and international health volunteering. She was Chairperson of the Digestive Health Foundation, and was awarded the Distinguished Service Medal of the Gastroenterological Society of Australia. She currently works part-time in occupational health. She has been a reviewer for the MJA and contributed opinion pieces on various topics.

Ms Tatiana Hitchen

Tatiana Hitchen is a final-year MD student at the University of Melbourne. Prior to commencing medicine, she was awarded a BA(Hons) in Philosophy and an LLB(Hons) from the University of Melbourne. She has worked in legal editing and compliance for several years, and has further experience in writing, editing, publishing and research. Tatiana has wide interests in ethics, policy and public health.

1 Comment

  1. I vehemently condemn the AMA for selling its soul for profitability of MJA. As an editor of Anuradhapura Medical Journal, Anuradhapura Clinical Society incurs a loss in publishing our journal and they do it with pleasure. As a postgraduate fellow in the Princess Alexandra Hospital in late 1990s i came to admire MJA for its Excellence.
    As the professor of medicine and the Dean Faculty of Medicine & Allied Sciences, Rajarata University of Sri Lanka i fully supports the endeavour of Australian Medical Academics for their independence.

Share This